The Liverpool forward has added more accolades to his bar, today he was awarded as the footballer of the year by the Football Writers’ Association.

The forward became the 11th different Liverpool player to win the award and the first since 2013-14, when Luis Suarez also claimed the double. Kenny Dalglish and John Barnes each won it twice while Steven Gerrard, Steve Nicol, Ian Rush, Terry McDermott, Emlyn Hughes, Kevin Keegan and Ian Callaghan also won it.


Patrick Barclay, FWA Chairman, said: “It’s been the tightest call since 1968/69, when there was a dead heat between Tony Book of Manchester City and Derby’s Dave Mackay.

“Right up to the last week or so we thought it might happen again, so strong was the support for Kevin de Bruyne, but Mo Salah’s relentless match-winning form, exemplified by his two great goals against Roma, seems to have swung the vote by a very narrow margin.

“What a race it has been between two players who, in a relatively short time, have reached genuine world class. But Mo Salah is the worthiest of winners. He is also the first African to receive the award and we congratulate him on a magnificent season.”

Other players to receive votes from FWA members were Manchester City trio Sergio Aguero, David Silva and Raheem Sterling, Tottenham Hotspur’s Christian Eriksen and Jan Vertonghen, Liverpool’s Roberto Firmino and Burnley goalkeeper Nick Pope.

With 43 goals in all competitions this season, he became the first Liverpool player to reach the 40-goal mark since Ian Rush in 1986-87.

Congratulations to Salah!



The Best News Daily

We don't send spam